macOS Catalina (10.15) Known Issues

"Relocated Items" folder on desktop after macOS upgrade

You may or may not see a Relocated Items folder on your desktop after a macOS upgrade.

When you upgrade your Mac to macOS Catalina or Big Sur, all your files and data are carefully reviewed to ensure they’re valid and authorized, undamaged, and in the correct locations. If some of your files couldn’t be moved to their new locations, they are placed in a Relocated Items folder. You can find the Relocated Items folder in the Shared folder within the User folder. The PDF document in the Relocated Items folder explains what to do about files placed in this folder.

Applications that do not work with macOS 10.15 Catalina

The following list of applications are either 32-bit applications or have some part of the application that is 32-bit and so will not run on macOS 10.15.

Please note that older versions of applications were not tested here – only the most current versions available in Managed Software Center were checked for 64-bit compatibility.

Internet Recovery steps for preparing the hard disk for a rebuild of a macOS 10.15 Mac

IMPORTANT NOTE:   This article should only be used for any Mac that can go no further than macOS 10.15.   All other Macs that can run Big Sur and up should follow this article to prepare a Mac for reload using a boot stick.

macOS 10.15 creates two "volumes" on installation.   A "System" volume and a "Data" volume.   To "wipe and reload" a 10.15 mac, you will need to repartition the drive into one volume before you reload the system.

T2 Systems and Catalina In-Place Upgrades

We have discovered that most “T2” Macs require an Internet connection to authenticate the Catalina installer with Apple.

Managed Software Center runs the macOS upgrader while you are logged out; unfortunately, logging out also disconnects you from MWireless (and MGuest), so the Mac is unable to authenticate with Apple’s servers.